The Lancet Standing Commission on Adolescent Health and Wellbeing has announced its newly appointed “Youth Network Members”

At a Glance

Comments 0
Favorites 0
News Item Posted: 
Tuesday, October 3, 2017



Point of Contact

The Lancet Standing Commission on Adolescent Health and Wellbeing has announced its newly appointed “Youth Network Members” 

The Lancet Standing Commission on Adolescent Health and Wellbeing has selected its six new “Youth Network Members”. As members of the Youth Network, over the next 6-9 months they will work with both youth commissioners from the 2016 Lancet Commission on Adolescent Health and Wellbeing (Dakshitha Wickremarathne and Kikelomo Taiwo-Idowu) to develop a plan for broad youth engagement with the Standing Commission. Additionally, they will engage with members of the Standing Commission in its work-plan and take forward the work around the six recommendations from the 2016 Lancet Report. This included a recommendation about the importance of partnering with young people for their health.

The six members are:

  • Amanda Bosco, a youth activist and human rights defender advocating for LGBTI rights, sexual and reproductive health rights.
  • Jordan Tewhaiti-Smith, currently a medical student from Martinborough, New Zealand who has a passion for Indigenous health, Māori health specifically, and has completed projects is the fields of Māori health (hauora), children’s health (tamariki ora), gang health and the health of young men (tāne ora). 
  • Mariam Naguib, a medical student at the University of Toronto, who has in the past worked as a Junior Fellow for Engineers without Borders on water and sanitation as well as at McGill University on access to health care for refugee claimants in Canada. 
  • Natasha Salifyanji Kaoma, an international sexual and reproductive health and rights advocate and Medical Doctor. 
  • Shanshan, a young activist promoting adolescent and youth sexual and reproductive health (SRH) and rights, who has volunteered for over 4 years in China Family Planning Association (CFPA), and was elected as the Alternate Youth Representative of IPPF ESEAOR, sits in the Regional Executive Committee, and represents ESEAOR in the Governing Council.
  • Surabhi Dogra, who at 16, undertook a school-level UN MDG-5 project supported by UNICEF India and Bhutan, which fuelled her passion to delve into the discipline of public health.  She received the University of Delhi Gold Medal for her academic performance in her bachelors’ degree in Mass Communication.

Find more information about the Youth Network Members here.